What we read

I didn’t do the best job of keeping track of this week’s reading, and most of our school time was spent reviewing math and watching coverage of the memorial and funeral of Rep. John Lewis.

But here’s a glimpse of some of the books we did read.

Harlem’s Little Blackbird
This is the story of Florence Mills, who I’d never known about until we watched the Gilder Lehrman Institute Hamilton Cast Read Along with Renée Elise Goldsberry. I now want Angelica Schuyler to read every book ever. (She sang! Twice! Including “It Is Well With My Soul,” and things were so much better!) Anyway. I immediately put the book on hold at the library, and reading it again was almost as good. It’s beautifully illustrated and the writing and story are wonderful, but I’m just not Renée Elise Goldsberry.

Just Ask!
I picked this up from the library, too. It’s written by SCOTUS Justice Sona Sotomayor, and it’s all about embracing differences, and asking people if you want to know more about them. It’s more for a 4- or 5-year old, but it’s nice.

The Histronauts: A Roman Adventure
I learned about this in a Facebook group, and wasn’t really sure what it was but history + graphic novel = buy it in this family.
And apparently it was read twice (I was planning to save it for an upcoming study on ancient civilizations, but that clearly didn’t happen.)
This book includes lots of facts and activities, and I hope there are lots more planned. An Egyptian Adventure is already on the way to our house.

Zoey and Sassafras: Dragons and Marshmallows
Apparently, this one started slowly, but on Night 2, he read 90 pages and finished and demanded we get the rest of the series. I ordered them on the spot!


Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen
Our favorite children’s book store from our old town started a monthly subscription service, and they clearly remember Wilson well, even though we moved away when he was just 3. This month’s package included this book, which is perfect for our upcoming study of the 50 states (we start Monday with Alabama!) Plus, there are a few historic sites locally we can visit after he finishes this one!

Comic Books
Once again, a stack of comics came home on Free Comic Book Day, including a really loved one with Stranger Things on one side and Minecraft on the other.
 
Other stuff
Almost all of the reading in this house happens after bedtime. I suggest reading time during the day and am met with weeping and gnashing of teeth. But he will stay up 3 or 4 hours after we tuck him in, just reading away. I never know exactly what he’s read the night before, unless there’s a stack of books left out for me to shelve. But I know this week he dug out Mousetronaut by Mark Kelly, because he ran out of his room long after I thought he was sleeping to tell me “Did you know I have a book by a real, live astronaut!?” and then we learned that Mark Kelly has a twin brother, Scott, who is also an astronaut and children’s book author.
He also has been reading Dog Man books over and over.

Leave a comment